Creamy, Delumtious Chili

I am aware that delumtious will probably not be found in an english dictionary any time soon, but this soup was so delicious and scrumptious that I’m up writing about it instead of sleeping.

my first time eating white chili was when my friend made it when I was visiting her. I was in love. With chili. I had not had it before, so it took me by surprise. Hmm, white chili. Its supposed to be red. My mom used to make chili in the winter when I was growing up. She made taco soup, potato soup, chicken noodle soup, oyster soup, cheeseburger soup and Lydianne soup. (Lydianne soup was when she cleaned out the fridge and made various concoctions) If she tho’t all day about what to make for supper and came up blank, she’d get up from her thinking chair and say “I guess we’ll just have Lydianne soup.” Then she would dissapear in the kitchen and after some steaming and rattling and clinking of glasses and silverware she would tell one of us to tell everyone supper is ready. I don’t ever remember being dissapointed in my moms cooking. Not even the Lydianne soups.

If your a guest in her house for lunch on Sunday, you won’t be getting soup.

Image

soups remind me of the comfort of my gramma and mom’s homes. Often, on long cold evenings  we’d all have a good belly warmin’ soul toastin’ time around a table of soup and whatever fixings went with that particular soup. Hopefully I’ll be able to provide the same for my children, so when they grow up and have a delicious soup, they’ll think of home and happy times and smile and be comforted.

Image

and I’ll probly miss them at the drop of a tissue.(I only have one,but i hope to have plural some day. When i graduate from the ‘hooray for the turtle’ phase to the ‘go ask the elephant’ phase.)

Image

So i didn’t do step by step photography on this. I’m assuming if you want to make this you will know how to chop onions and peel garlic and open a can and find some form of cooked turkey or chicken meat. I am currently on the Trim Healthy Mama lifestyle change-over or diet. So if you are on that also, you will want to use the breast meat. Also for the broth, use fat free or use chicken bouillon cubes and water. I served it with  Ezekial sprouted bread. I sprinkled just a little parmesan cheese, then broiled them til toasty. feel free to adjust the fat content as you like, omit the cheese, and cream cheese if you like.

I’ve found that the best way to make soup is to follow a certain order. First take care of the meat.grill it, saute it or somehow change it from raw to cooked. Flavor depends on the way you do it, grilling being yum and poaching being bland. Set it aside. If I’m browning beef, I just use one big pot and set the meat on a platter til i’m ready for it again. Second, saute your vegetable in the same pot. You can’t let any flavor escape by using too many bowls.Starting with the hard veggies first then adding the more tender ones gradually to avoid having too crunchy or too mushy vegetables. Fresh vegetables and herbs make a huge difference. Third step, shake in the spices and stir until the flavors blend nicely. Fourth- add the broth and creams. taste and adjust the flavors til you get it just right. Last, add the meat and let simmer til meat is warm or cooked through. That’s how I like to make soup.

Creamy White Chili

4-6 cups of turkey or chicken chunks

2-4 garlic  cloves, minced

1 medium onion, chopped

1 T olive oil

10 oz tomato & chiles

15-17 oz. white beans, cooked

14 oz. chicken broth

Chili powder, cayenne pepper,

Oregano & salt to taste bout  ¼ -½ each

3 oz of 1/3 less fat cream cheese

1 cup 0% greek yogurt.

In a soup kettle, sauté onion and garlic until tender. Add the tomatoes and chiles and seasonings. Stir together. Add beans. Add broth and cream cheese and greek yogurt and stir gently until all is meting together.  Add chicken or turkey. Taste and adjust to suit your preference- more salt? More pepper? ( It’s better to put in too little and add more later than to add to much right away.) When the flavors are blended and meat is warm through, you are ready to serve.

On the THM thingy this would be E for energizing. It’s 2 am and I’m just winding down. Thank you Gina for introducing me to white chili.

hopefully I didn’t get too captain obvious with the whole soup process 🙂

8 thoughts on “Creamy, Delumtious Chili

  1. I thought with E meals, you couldn’t have this much fat? It has yogurt, cream cheese and oil for sauteeing. Is this correct at being an E?

Leave a comment